Karnival of Trash Mail Art Call: Artist Stamps by Bradford (Deadwood, South Dakota, USA) w/ Gina Ulgen (UK)

Artist stamps by Bradford (Deadwood, South Dakota, USA)

 

I called the Karnival of Trash Mail Art Call “The Greatest Show on Earth,” which was hyperbole of course. But it was a wonderful, wonderful experience. Friends both old and new sent incredible work and it just kept coming! The KoT is, I believe, one of the great monuments erected to Trashpo and DKult. The entire show is archived here at MinXus-Lynxus, and I plan to document it elsewhere for posterity.

Gu (Gina Ulgen) of Norwich, Norfolk, UK provided an image that defined the KOT “brand” perfectly (see stamp). I made it into a sticker and it appeared widely during the show. Bradford of Deadwood, South Dakota, USA turned Gina’s image into exquisite stamps. Some time ago he sent me three sheets, which I am now sharing. (Please excuse the delay.)

Bradford is a phenomenal stamp maker and highly regarded in the Eternal Network. I am not particularly strong in the stamp area of mail art, so I’ll refrain from going much deeper than saying I am a big fan of his work. He is very active on the IUOMA-Ning platform and very supportive of other artists, which is a quality I admire very much too.

The envelope showcases more Bradford work:

The Fluxus stamps are not to be missed:

Now let us, as they say, “talk turkey” concerning the ongoing Kot clean up. I know I promised a lot to people in order to get that great work for the show. I’ve sent some hefty missives in reply, but I have hardly completed my responses. I have three sheets of Bradford KoT stamps, and will be glad to share them (in small quantities of course) with KoT participants. If you especially want some of these amazing stamps make sure to contact me. Otherwise, I will share them as I think is appropriate. I just can’t see filing these away.

Many thanks to Bradford!

Leave a Reply

