Karnival of Trash Mail Art Call: Trainpo by Rebecca Guyver (Suffolk, UK)

Mail art by Rebecca Guyver (Suffolk, UK)

I am thrilled to finally document this piece by legendary DKULTUK member Rebecca Guyver. I have followed the DKult Doodle Therapy craze she initiated with great interest, and I believe here we have an example of a superb solo piece. Sometimes, and this is subjective I realize, I see slightly ominous caricatures of the bourgeoisie in Rebecca’s therapeutic pieces. The fact that this was composed on a train is interesting as well. Do any networkers recall when travel mail art was all the rage? People went on trips and attempted to send pieces from any location where they intersected with a mailbox. Spontaneous, cryptic works were plentiful and flying then. Anyway, the reverse side:

This would be the Trashpo B-side. Rebecca Guyver is known for her work (obsession) with plasticizing and wrapping mail art. This was a beautifully wrapped piece, so I documented that stage of its evolution as well:

As ever, thanks to Rebecca Guyver!

One comment

  1. suffolkrebecca · April 19

    Thanks DVS. I’ve been reading on trains lately but I hope to send you more stuff soon. Recently, I noticed on a FB post on the Cranberry Island Info Page (Maine, where I will be gong soon!) that one of the former ‘islanders’ and I had three key people as friends from the MA network in common. Such a small world. Off topic, but interesting – to me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

